|Robertson Quay / Clarke Quay Walkabout will take you through Chesed-El Synagogue, National Theatre site, UE Square, Mohamed Sultan Road, Hong San See Temple, DBS Arts Centre - Home of the Singapore Repertory Theatre, Singapore Tyler Print Institute, Robertson Quay, Ord Bridge, Liang Court/Hotel New Otani, River House, Clarke Quay, Read Bridge, G-Max and Coleman Bridge.
Clarke Quay (克拉码头) was named after Sir Andrew clarke, governor of the Straits Settlements from 1873 to 1875. As land was more plentiful here compared to the mouth of the river, Clarke Quay developed into an area of godowns (warehouses) for the long term storage of goods.
Clarke Quay is also the name of a road along the quay, part of which has since been converted into a pedestrian mall. Clarke Street, located next to Clarke Quay, was officially named in 1896.
The majority of the godowns in Clarke Quay were constructed between the mid-19th century and the early 20th century by Southern Chinese Hokkiens who traded in beans, copra, coffee and sugar, and Teochews who traded in rice and dried goods.
Among the well known Chinese businessmen who operated in Clarke Quay were Tan Tock Seng, a wealthy philanthropist who gave his name to Tan Tock Seng Hospital; Hoo Ah Kay, who was also known as "Whampoa" for Whampoa's Ice House after the Chinese district from which he came and Tan Yeok Nee, River House was a mansion owned by Tan Yeok Nee, a gambier and pepper merchant.
The government then cleaned up the Singapore River and its environment from 1977 to 1987.
The Clarke Quay Conservation Area was gazetted in 1989. Several of the historic buildings were sold to a private developer to form the Clarke Quay development. Other parcels of vacant land were sold for new commercial and hotel developments along the riverfront.
Clarke Quay Festival Village was developed and officially opened on 10 December 1993.
Walkabout Guide can be downloaded here.