|Mount Faber is a hill about 105 metres (344 ft.) located at HarbourFront area.
One of the oldest parks in Singapore, Mount Faber Park is a frequent tourist destination, as it provides a panoramic view of the increasingly dense central business district within the Central Area and southern part of Singapore and the southern islands.
A mural wall depicting scenes of local history can be seen at Upper Faber Point, the highest point in the park where a tree was planted during the first tree Planting Day.
Mount Faber was known as Telok Blangah Hill but was later renamed in July 1845 after Captain Charles Edward Faber of the Madras Engineers, the superintending engineer in the Straits and Governor Butterworth's brother-in-law, who arrived in Singapore in September 1844, and built a narrow winding road to the summit for the new signal station and flagstaff. The Free Press, a local newspaper commented "...stupidly narrow road to the top...two persons meeting can barely pass each other...so much of renown is bestowed up him."
The signal station was erected on the hill in 1845, and the Malay used to refer to the hill as Bukit Bendara (Flag Hill). The signal station was transferred from Pulau Blakang Mati (now Sentosa) because of the "injurious miasma" on the island. In May 1851 a new Flagstaff was erected on the hill. A month later it was struck by lightning ad destroyed. The Signal Station and Flagstaff remained on the hill till the early 1970s. Today two Telecoms transmitting towers are stationed here.
After the Indian Mutiny of 1857, the Straits government decided to convert Mount Faber into a fort for fear of revolt among the local Indian sepoys. Defence work was carried out and granite emplacements for guns were completed halfway up the hill, but Mount Faber never became a fort.
Mount Faber is covered by a secondary rain forest. The vegetation on the slope helps to stabilise the terrain besides beautifying the park. Arenga palms and Rhododendrons can be seen alongside the planted Bougainvilleas and Red Flame.
There are no tours available here. There are route maps around the park.