Malay Heritage Centre
Return to home page.
Admission
   
Museum
Adult: $4.00
Child (7 to 12 years ): $3.00
Senior citizen (above 60 yrs): $3.00
Child (below 7 years): Free

Istana Compound
Free

   
Open
   
Museum
Mondays: 1 pm to 6 pm
Tues-Sun: 10 am to 6 pm

Istana Compound
8 am to 9 pm

   
Transportation
   
By MRT: Bugis Station
By Bus: -
North Bridge Road - 7, 32, 51, 63, 80, 145, 197
Victoria Street - 2, 7, 12, 32, 33, 51, 63, 80, 130, 133, 145, 197
Beach Road - 10, 14, 16, 70, 100, 107, 196, 401.
   
Information
   
Malay Heritage Centre
85, Sultan Gate,
Singapore 198501
Tel: (65) 6391 0450
Fax: (65) 6299 4316
Website: www.malayheritage.org.sg
Malay Heritage Centre - Istana Kampong Gelam consists of the Malay Heritage Museum which showcase the Singapore Malays' heritage, culture and history. On the Istana Kampong Gelam Grounds you can also find the Gedung Kuning ("yellow mansion").

Istana Kampong Gelam can be said to be where the history of our country began. In 1824, after signing the treaty that ceded Singapore to the British, Sultan Hussein Shah was given around 23 hectares of land. He built his palace or Istana here. It is believed that George Coleman designed the Istana. The Istana was commissioned by Sultan Hussein's son, Sultan Ali Iskander Shah, in about 1840-1843. It has been declared an Ancient and Historical Monument with effect from January 1905. Kampong Gelam derives its name from the gelam tree (malaleuca leucadendron). In the olden days, much of Kampong Gelam was swampy. These conditions were ideal for the gelam tree. The Istana was also the venue of the inaugural meeting of an important Malay political organisation, the Kesatuan Melayu or the Singapore Malay Union in 1926. During World War II, after the British had surrendered to the Japanese, the building provided shelter for some Malay Regiment soldiers who took refuge there.

Located at entrance of Istana Kampong Gelam, the Gedung Kuning was, for many years, known as the Bendahara House (Minister's House). Some believe that it was used by Sultan Hussein's prime minister to conduct official business and as a transit point for official documents. There is no evidence to authenticate this. Sultan Hussein Shah did not have a minister who operated in Kampong Gelam. The Temenggong (or prime minister) was allocated land in Telok Blangah by the British government in the early 19th Century. The Gedung Kuning was acquired by the government under the Land Acquisitions Act in 1999 and it was given to the Malay Heritage Foundation to develop as part of the new Malay Heritage Centre.

The Malay Heritage Foundation was formed on 28 July 1999 to undertake the task of developing a heritage centre for the Malay community, a project subsequently named the Malay Heritage Centre. This idea was suggested in early 1999 by the then Prime Minister, Goh Chok Tong. The project is supported by MITA, in partnership with National Heritage Board. The Malay Heritage Centre officially opened on 4 June 2005.

Cultural Show available via Bookings only.

 

 

January 2010.