Clementi Woods Park
Return to home page.
Admission
   
Free.
   
Open
   
Daily.
   
Transportation
   
Buses 10 and 33 to Clementi Road. Buses 30, 51, 143 and 189 to West Coast Road.
   
Information
   
Clementi Woods Park
Clementi Raod next to Kent Vale, along West Coast Road next to West Coast Plaza.
Tel: 1800-471 7300
Website: www.nparks.gov.sg

The wooded ambience of the Clementi Woods Park, with its tall mature trees and natural vegetation, is a welcoming retreat for those looking for a quiet cool stroll in the morning or evening. Birds chirp and insects hum as you walk along the footpath lined with Acacia, Wormia and Tembusu trees. A tower at one end of the park allows viewing of the surrounding area.

The Clementi area is named after Sir Cecil Clementi Smith, Governor of the Straits Settlements and High Commissioner during the period 1887-1893. He was an accomplished Chinese scholar who spent most of his career in the East. The development of Clementi Town began in 1975 and lasted till 1979. It was the 8th town to be developed by the HDB. Before development, part of Clementi was a swampland.

Did you know that:-

i) Smith Street was named after Sir Cecil Clementi Smith.

ii) The Dalhousie Obelisk, in 1885, was considered for demolition as an obstacle to the construction of Connaught Drive. So under the order of the Governor, Sir Cecil Clementi Smith, the obelisk was carefully dismantled and removed from its foundation on 9 July 1890 and re-erected in front of Victoria Memorial Hall and Empress Place Building.

iii) The President's Scholarships has its roots in the the Queen's Scholarship, founded in 1885. The Queen's Scholarships was initiated by Sir Cecil Clementi Smith.

iv) Singapore had two governors with similar names, Sir Cecil Clementi Smith and Sir Cecil Clementi.

v) Sir Cecil Clementi Smith became the Honorary Colonel of the new Singapore Volunteer Artillery on 1 Feb 1890 until his death on 7 Feb 1946.

vi) When in 1889, the Government gave Gan Eng Seng School a site in Telok Ayer Street for a new building, it was Mr Gan Eng Seng who put up the building itself. On 4th April, 1893 the new building was opened by the Governor, Sir Cecil Clementi Smith.

There is no tour here.

 

January 2010.