Alexander Laurie Johnston arrived in Singapore in 1820. One of the earliest and much-liked settlers, he was the first Magistrate and Justice of Peace, appointed by Sir Stamford Raffles, who also made him one of the first Trustees of the Singapore Institution (later Raffles Institution). He established A. L. Johnston & Co. in July 1820, and being an active member of the mercantile community, Alexander Laurie Johnston was one of the founding members of the Singapore Chamber of Commerce in 1837. He was elected its first Chairman. He was one of Singapore's pioneer businessmen who spent more than 22 years of his life here, made his mark and on 17 December 1841, he finally left the Settlement and the East, for England, carrying with him the affectionate regards of all whom he left behind him. Johnston's Pier, now demolished, was named after him.

 


 

The Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Non-Commissioned Officers (NCO) Club was formerly located in a clubhouse along Beach Road, close to the junction with Middle Road. The two-storey building was originally constructed as the Britannia Club for British servicemen and was officially opened on 17 December 1952 by Commissioner-General for Southeast Asia Malcolm Macdonald.

 


 


Singapore Buddhist Free Clinic is a charitable organisation set up by local Buddhists. The Free Clinic was established in 1969. In 1972, an HDB shop house at Block 77, #01-519 Indus Road Singapore 160077, was leased to set up the first Branch Clinic to meet a high demand for its services from the sick and poor. The new branch clinic commenced operation on 1 Dec. 1972 and was officially opened on 17 December 1972 by Mr. Chan Chee Seng as well. The latest branch, Dover Branch, started operation from 1 April 2016.

 



Diabetic Society of Singapore HQ opens at the Ang Mo Kio Community Hospital on 17 December 1993.

 



The Parkinson’s Disease Society (Singapore) was founded on 17 December 1996 by a few concerned doctors and carers of Parkinson’s disease sufferers.