Pulau Satumu island, about 23 km south-west of Singapore, marks the south channel for the sea passage into Singapore. Raffles lighthouse is located on this island. It is out-of-bounds except for the Raffles Lighthouse staff and visitors with special permission. The foundation stone of the Raffles Lighthouse was laid on 24 May 1854 by Col. W. J. Butterworth, C.B., the Governor of the Straits Settlements. The light which is a fixed bright dioptric light of the third order, was lit from 1 December 1855.

 


 

Mount Emily swimming pool was the first public pool in Singapore. It was also the first pool in Singapore that used fresh water instead of seawater. It was located along Upper Wilkie Road, where Mount Emily Park is today. Converted from a municipal reservoir, the pool was declared open on 10 January 1931. It was an extremely popular venue, with the number of bathers hitting a record of 8,000 a month in the mid-1930s. There were scheduled daily bathing periods of varying durations to ensure access to all members of the public. It used chlorination, and later filtration as well, to keep the pool water clean and clear. On 1 August 1946, charge of the pool was again given over to the Municipal Commissioners, which closed the pool promptly for maintenance and repairs. It was reopened on 1 December 1949, to a long queue of bathers eager for a dip.

 


 

In 1950, the site at 50, Lorong 34, Geylang, was acquired. On 21 January 1951, Rev. Yin Poon laid the foundation stone and construction work started for the Maha Bodhi School building. In July 1951, the pupils moved from the shophouse into the new building. The new school was officially declared open by the then British High Commissioner, Mr Malcolm MacDonald, on 1 December 1951.

 


 

Before 1 December 1960, lands in Singapore under private ownership were held under the 'old' system of registration. The 'old' system is not satisfactory as registration of land transactions is not compulsory and therefore the records in the Register of Deeds may not show all the relevant transactions affecting the lands. On 1 December 1960, the Land Titles Act came into operation with the aim of simplifying the transfer of lands as well as other dealings affecting lands. Since then, lands under the 'old' system were gradually brought under the 'new' system. Under the 'new' system, a certificate of title is issued to replace the old deed as the legal document evidencing ownership of the land.

 


 

The Singapore Armed Forces Commando Formation (CDO FN) is a commando formation of the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF). The CDO FN's creation began in 1967 when two officers, Major (MAJ) Clarence Tan and MAJ James Chia, were tasked with recruiting eligible candidates from any unit in the SAF to form an elite unit. The SAF Regular Battalion was formed on 1 December 1969 and was directly under the command of Singapore's Ministry of Defence (MINDEF).

 


 

The Naval Diving Unit (NDU) was officially formed on 1 December 1971. Based in the former British Terror Camp in Sembawang, the unit used to be known as the Far East Clearance Diving Center. When the Singapore Armed Forces took over Terror Camp from the British, the Far East Clearance Diving Center was renamed the SAF Diving Center. On 1 December 1971, the name was changed to the NDU. The present camp is on the same site as the old camp and was officially opened on 30 May 97.

 


 

DBS opened its first full-service branch at Jurong on 1 December 1972.

 


 

The Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore (IDA), a statutory board of the Singapore Government, was formed on 1 December 1999 when the government merged the National Computer Board (NCB) and Telecommunication Authority of Singapore (TAS), as a result of a growing convergence of information technology and telephony. IDA aims to grow Singapore into a dynamic global infocomm hub and to leverage infocomm for Singapore's economic and social development. (Source: https://www.ida.gov.sg/About-Us/What-We-Do/History)

 


 

 

VivoCity was built on the site of the exhibition halls of the former World Trade Centre, now the HarbourFront Centre, the construction had begun on June 2003. It has 1,500,000 square feet (140,000 m2) of gross floor area and 1,040,000 square feet (97,000 m2) of retail space, larger than Suntec City and Ngee Ann City (the former of which was the largest before VivoCity's opening). The shopping mall opened officially on 1 December 2006.