On 30 November 1921, First Statistics Ordinance called for the establishment of a Satistical Bureau.



The Singapore State Arms and Flag and National Anthem Ordinance 1959 was passed on 30 November 1959.



On 30 November 1967, Parliament met for the first-ever election of a President of the Republic. The meeting was a purely formal affair of about 20 minutes and Yusof Ishak was elected to continue his term of office as the President.


In the early 70's, majority of the vehicle traders such as new and used cars dealers, repair workshops, etc. were situated mostly in the Middle Road area, as the Registry of Vehicle was then located there. During that time, the vehicle traders were scattered and there was lack of communication and co-operation between them. In order to strengthen the links of cohesion, development potential and common mutual benefits for the vehicle traders, a forum meeting was called by Mr Ong Kim Teck, Chairman of Tiong Choon Co. Pte Ltd on 14 March 1972 at 8.00 pm at his office at 429-D, Bukit Timah Road, 3 3/4 ms, to discuss on the establishment of the Singapore Secondhand Motor Vehicle Dealers' Association. Mr Ong Kim Teck was unanimously elected as Chairman and 14 founding members were also elected to serve in the Preparatory Committee. The Rules and Regulations of the Association were drafted and the committee applied to the Registrar of Society for the registration of the Association. On 30 November 1972, the application was officially approved by the Registrar of Society and gazetted on 8 December 1972.



The Land Acquisition Act was passed by parliament on 26 October 1966 and came into effect on 17 June the following year. Any disputes between the government and landowners over the compensation amounts were presided over by an Appeals Board. To further expedite government developmental projects through land acquisition, the act was amended in 1973 in order to curb land speculation and limit the cost of land acquisition. The revised act fixed the compensation amount for acquired land at the market value as at 30 November 1973 or at the date of gazette notification, whichever was lower.



The country’s first four presidents, who held office between 1965 and 1993, were appointed by parliament. They were Yusof, Benjamin Henry Sheares, C. V. Devan Nair and Wee Kim Wee. After the legislation on elected presidency came into effect on 30 November 1991, Singapore held its first presidential election on 28 August 1993 and Ong Teng Cheong became the country’s first elected president. He was succeeded by S. R. Nathan, who was elected unopposed in 1999 and 2005, and held office for two six-year terms. Tony Tan Keng Yam, who won the fourth presidential election held on 27 August 2011, was sworn in as Singapore’s seventh president on 1 September the following month.




Following numerous incidents of commuters falling on the tracks and unauthorised intrusions, the Land Transport Authority made the decision in 2008 to install half-height platform screen doors for all above-ground stations in phases. Installation began from 17 September 2011 and began operation from 30 November 2011.