(http://gallery.yopriceville.com/National-Flags/Malaysia_
Wrinkled_Flag#.V_jh9jVWP8E)

 

Singapore merger with Malaysia was fraught with difficulties from the onset. This was due to a series of fundamental clashes between the PAP government in Singapore and the Alliance leaders in Kuala Lumpur over issues ranging from extremist politicking to contentious economic and financial arrangements. One of these disagreements was over the 39.8 percent share of the new taxes that Singapore was required to contribute even though Singapore’s population was just 17 percent of the total population of Malaysia. These new taxes were announced by the federal government on 25 November 1964 in a bid to raise $147 million to address the federal deficit of $543 million.

 


 

The FMS Hostel, the predecessor of King Edward Hall, was first opened in 1916 to provide accommodation for 72 students. In 1955, the FMS hostel was demolished, and a new building – King Edward VII Hall at Sepoy Lines, was erected. While King Edward VII Hall celebrated its 25th anniversary in 1982, its era at Sepoy Lines came to an end when the hostel was moved to Kent Ridge. The King Edward VII Hall at Kent Ridge was officially opened by President Wee Kim Wee on 25 November 1988.

 



A three-room flat in Toa Payoh is the site of one of the most horrific murders in Singapore's history. In 1981, medium Adrian Lim, 39, conducted rituals involving blood, drugs and sex in this flat, killing a nine-year-old girl and 10-year-old boy with the help of his wife and his mistress. The trio were said to have also drunk the blood of their victims. The trio were found guilty of the murders and hanged on 25 November 1988.

 


 

The Kolam Ayer CC was declared opened by Mr. Sidek Saniff, Parliamentary Secretary for Trade and Industry and Social Affairs on 28 August 1983. The Kolam Ayer CC was successful in promoting a happy community spirit among the residents in the new Kolam Ayer Estate. Kolam Ayer CC was renamed a Community Club within seven years from the date the centre was opened. Her status was officially declared on 25 November 1990 by Mr. Sidek Saniff, Parliamentary Secretary for Education and MP for Jalam Besar GRC.

 


 

The Foundation Stone Laying Ceremony of the new Museum was held at the National Museum site on 25 November 2004. First public announcement of the redeveloped museum as the National Museum of Singapore.