Finally on 21 November 1960, it was announced that under the Raffles National Library (change of Name) Ordinance 1960, and the Raffles National Museum (change of Name) Ordinance 1960, which were introduced at the last sitting of the Legislative Assembly; the two institutions would be known as the National Library and the National Museum (The Straits Times, 21 Nov 1960, p. 9).

 


 

As early as 1826, Jamae Mosque already existed, a testimony to the large number of Tamil Muslims in Chinatown. The present brick and plaster building was completed between 1830 and 1835. It is not a coincidence that the street on which it is located is named Mosque Street and this mosque is always referred to as “Periya Palli” meaning “Big Mosque” Jamae Mosque was built by Chulia Muslim merchants from India's Coromandal Coast, under the leadership of Anser Sahib. Thus, it is sometimes referred to as 'Masjid Chulia'. A number of these Chulia Indians (Indians from the Chola Kingdom of South India), mostly traders and moneychangers, settled in Kling Street, which was eventually named Chulia Street. Perhaps this explains why the mosque is also known as ' Kling Mosque'. “Kling” is the nickname for Indians from the Kalinga Kingdom in India. They came and set up the three Islamic heritage buildings in the heart of Chinatown within a short period: Jamae Chulia Mosque was the first. The other two are Al-Abrar Mosque and Nagore Durga that are located at Telok Ayer Street. On 21 November 1881, the Governor of the Straits Settlement granted the mosque a 999-year land lease. In 1894, it came under the management of the same panel of court appointed trustees that managed all other mosques in Singapore.

 


 

Sze Hai Tong Bank and Insurance Company Limited, one of Singapore's earliest local banks, was established on 21 November 1906 by a group of Teochew businessmen including Ng Song Teng (Chairman), Tan Teck Joon (General Manager), Na Kim Seng, Yeo Lee Chiang and Liaw Chia Heng. It was the oldest local bank operating in Singapore until it merged with Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation (OCBC) in 1998.

 


 

Robinson's Department Store at Raffles Place was destroyed by fire on 21 November 1972, with a loss estimated at over S$14 million. Nine people (eight of them employees of the company) died in the blaze which started at 9:55 am from a short circuit on the first floor of the four-storey building.

 


 

The Bukit Batok Public Library was officially opened on 21 November 1998 by BG (NS) Lee Hsien Loong, Deputy Prime Minister. The library covers an area of 1,279 square metres and is situated within the popular West Mall Shopping Centre.

 


 

 

Joo Koon Bus Interchange began operations on 21 November 2015.