(Tan Kim Seng fountain at the centre of Battery Road. c.1880s)

 

Tan Kim Seng founded Kim Seng and company, a trading house on Boat Quay. Tan Kim Seng was a leader among the Chinese. On 18 November 1857, Tan Kim Seng offered a sum of $13,000 for a supply of water to the Town from Bukit Timah. This water was to be carried through pipes on the main roads in Singapore. The Secretary of State for India praised the public spiritedness of Tan Kim Seng. In recognition of his farsightedness, the Municipal Council built a large fountain in Fullerton Square in 1882 to commemorate his generosity. Around the fountain there was an inscription: "This fountain is erected by the Municipal Commissioners in commemoration of Mr Tan Kim Seng's donation towards the cost of the Singapore Water Works".

 


 

Former Tao Nan School (now The Peranakan Museum, picture above), was the first modern Hokkien school to be founded in the Straits Settlements, and one of six modern Chinese schools set up in Singapore under the influence of educational reforms in China at the end of the 19th century. The school was officially established on 18 November 1906 under the auspices of the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuan, although classes did not commence until 1907, and even then were held in rooms in Siam House – the residence of Tan Kim Ching on North Bridge Road. It was the one of the first six modern Chinese schools to be set up in Singapore. The school moved to the Marine Parade neighbourhood in 1982.

 


 

Kolam Ayer Community Club was declared open by Mr. S.V. Lingam on 9 February 1964. The CC was a meeting ground for the various ethnic, language and religious groups.(Photo: Courtesy of Nat. Heritage Board) Kolam Ayer CC was temporarily housed at an HDB rented shop-house at Blk 45, #01-1477 Bendemeer Road. It was officially opened on 18 November 1976. The very limited facilities was immediately felt by the newly formed Kolam Ayer CC Management Committee (found 22 November 1978) and they took the first step toward planning of a new CC.