The Cenotaph was unveiled on 31 March 1922 by the Prince of Whales, it was built to commemorate the 124 men who left the Straits Settlements, never to return from the war in Europe (1914 - 1918). Denis Santry of Swan and Maclaren designed the Cenotaph and Governor of the Straits Settlements, Sir Laurence Nunns Guillemard, laid the foundation stone on 15 November 1920. By 1951, a dedication was made on the other side of the Cenotaph, to commemorate those who died during the Second World War.



Following the establishment of the National Sports Promotion Board (NSPB), the government set up the Singapore Stadium Corporation (NSC) on 15 November 1971 to oversee the construction of the National Stadium and to manage the stadium after it was completed (Singapore Sports Council, [SSC], 1973, p. 5). The government initially wanted the NSPB to be responsible for the National Stadium. However, since the NSPB was preoccupied with the task of promoting and developing sports standards and popularity in Singapore, the government considered that a separate body was needed to ensure that the National Stadium was efficiently managed.



On the 15 November 1978, a meeting of the Pro Tem committee took place and several names were considered, including, “Singapore Women’s Federation” and Bureau of Women’s Affairs. On the 30th April 1979, at a meeting called by Mrs S.C. Tang, Executive Director of the Singapore Council of Social Service, the floor nominated a pro tem committee, comprising Mrs Julie Tan (Chairperson) Mrs Caroline Lam (Chairperson), Mrs. Anamah Tan, Mrs Seow Peck Leng, Mrs Maureen Tan, Mrs Mary Ho and Mrs Tan Bee Choo’s Representative. The Constitution was drawn up by the committee which was then sent to twenty four women’s organisations and the Registrar of Societies in October 1979. The name that was finally approved by the Registrar was “Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations”.


The British Club was founded to meet the needs of the British community, the Club is also a favourite retreat for over 30 other nationalities and Singaporeans who together form nearly half the membership. Registered in January 1983, it took a further three years to complete our clubhouse which was officially opened on 15 November 1987 by HRH Princess Anne.