Dhobies or "Indian laundrymen" once washed the clothes of nearby residents on the banks of the fresh water stream of the Sungei Brass Bassa (now Stamford Canal) that ran by Orchard and Stamford Roads. After which they would dry them on the immediate open waste-land, a five-acre lawn that was subsequently occupied by the Ladies Lawn Tennis Club opened on 10 November 1884 till 1924. The land was later called Dhoby Green. The area where the laundry work was once carried out is now an open space and a landscaped Bras Basah Park.

 




(Photo taken at National Library Board exhibition in Aug 2016)

 



Marine Parade Public Library was officially opened on 10 November 1978 by Mr Goh Chok Tong, then Senior Minister of State for Finance. The library was relocated to the Marine Parade Community Building on 28 May 2000 at an official ceremony attended by Prime Minister Mr Goh Chok Tong.

 


 

Hong San See at 31 Mohamed Sultan Road was built between 1908 and 1913. It was gazetted as a national monument on 10 November 1978. The temple was originally located on Tras Street in Tanjong Pagar when it was first established in 1829.

 



Sri Perumal Temple at 397 Serangoon Road was built on land purchased from the government in 1855. It was gazetted as a national monument on 10 November 1978. By the 1960s the poor state into which the temple had fallen called for a total reconstruction, and an Hindu architect from Madras was engaged.

 



The Expressway Monitoring and Advisory System (EMAS) is an expressway incident management system that monitors and manages traffic along Singapore's expressways with an array of cameras. The system was launched on the Central Expressway on 21 March 1998 and on the Ayer Rajah Expressway on 10 November 1999.