Guthrie & Company was established in 1821 by Alexander Guthrie as a trading branch of Thomas Talbot Harrington and Company. It rose to become one of the leading agency houses in Singapore during the 19th and 20th century. First located in a rented godown at Hill Street, the company sold British goods to the European and Chinese quarters of Singapore. When the godown was sold off by its owner, Guthrie obtained Farquhar's help to secure a plot of land at High Street where he built his second godown. Guthrie lost his second godown when the layout of Singapore town was reorganised upon Raffles' return. Undeterred, he leased a patch of swamp from the government in the Boat Quay area where he built his third godown. Business took off and the establishment of Messrs Harrington and Guthrie was formally announced on 1 February 1823. The partnership between Guthrie and Harrington came to an end on 8 November 1823. ┬áToday, Guthrie GTS's core business is in investment holding, engineering, property investment and management.

 



At a time when Europe was undergoing the industrial revolution and tin became a sought-after commodity, the Malayan tin-mining industry became a major player in the world tin trade. Herman Muhlinghaus, a German entrepreneur, believed that efficiency of tin extraction could be increased by using coal in a larger furnace during the smelting process. He partnered James Sword, a Scottish businessman, and founded the Straits Trading Company Limited in Singapore on 8 November 1887, with an initial capital of $150,000.

 



After the war, the British government devoted significant resources into building a naval base in Singapore, as a deterrent to the increasingly ambitious Japanese Empire. Completed in 1939 at a staggering cost of $500 million, the naval base boasted what was then the largest dry dock in the world, the third-largest floating dock, and enough fuel tanks to support the entire British navy for six months. It was defended by heavy 15-inch naval guns and by Royal Air Force squadrons stationed at Tengah Air Base. Winston Churchill touted it as the "Gibraltar of the East." Unfortunately, it was a base without a fleet. The British Home Fleet was stationed in Europe and the plan was for it to sail quickly to Singapore when needed. However, after World War II broke out in 1939, the Fleet was fully occupied with defending Britain. Lieutenant General Sir William George Shedden Dobbie was appointed governor of Singapore and General Officer Commanding Malaya Command on 8 November 1935, holding the post based in The Istana until shortly before the outbreak of World War II in 1939. He was responsible for forming The Dobbie Hypothesis on the fall of Singapore which, had it been heeded, may have prevented the fall of Singapore during the Second World War.

 



The Singapore Glass Manufacturers Co. Ltd. was the sole manufacturer of glass containers in Singapore. Its factory, popularly known as the Singapore Glass Factory, stood on Henderson Road, and was a famous landmark in Bukit Merah for many years, from the late 1940s to the 1970s, before the development of Henderson Industrial Estate. The factory, with a workforce of more than 1,000, provided much needed employment to residents in the surrounding areas including Bukit Merah. However, relations between the Company and its employees had been strained due to several issues such as retrenchment of workers. This culminated in a strike on 28 August 1960 that lasted 73 days before it was settled. After two rounds of talks chaired by James Puthucheary, then manager of the Industrial Promotion Board, the Union and the management of the Company reached an agreement on 8 November 1960 and workers returned in batches to the factory on 9 November.

 


 


Muscat Street was named in 1909 after the capital of Oman. Muscat Street was jointly redeveloped in 2012 by Singaopre and Oman. Muscat Street was officially reopened by Minister for Foreign Affairs and Law K Shanmugam and Secretary General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Sultanate of Oman Sayyid Badr Bin Hamad Al Busaidi on 8 November 2012. Masjid Sultan is located along Muscat Street.