The Lions Clubs International (LCI) began as the dream of Chicago businessman Melvin Jones. He believed that local business clubs should expand their horizons from purely professional concerns to the betterment of their communities and the world at large. In 1957, Noshir Pundole, who was then deeply involved in the Lions movement in India and subsequently became an International Director, paid an exploratory visit to Singapore. This led to the birth, on 5 November 1958, of the Lions Club of Singapore, later renamed Lions Club of Singapore (Host). (Source: lionsclubs.org.sg)

 



The first examination for diplomate membership, the M.C.G.P., was held on 5 November 1972. This was the first post-graduate examination for family medicine to be conducted in Singapore.

 



To better serve Singaporeans living in the East, a passport office was opened at Joo Chiat Complex on 5 November 1984, issuing both international and restricted passports. The office subsequently closed its doors on Sep 1999.

 


 


Service 171 was derived from Green Bus Company route 4 (Ban San Street - Mandai/Sembawang Terminal) until 1970, then it was renumberd 171. It now runs between Yishun Interchange and Marina Centre Terminal. This service was handed to TIBS on 5 November 1995.