The Oversea-Chinese Banking Corporation (OCBC) was incorporated on 31 October 1932 through the merger of three Hokkien banks – the Chinese Commercial Bank Ltd. (established in 1912), Ho Hong Bank Ltd. (1917) and Oversea-Chinese Bank Ltd. (1919) – during the Great Depression. (Source:



The Singapore Insurance Employees’ Union was registered on 31 October 1955. In the early years, the Union was primarily engaged in solving bread and butter issues. Though Industrial Relations is still the mainstay of the Union, the present challenge is for SIEU to remain relevant to the changing needs and aspirations of its membership. This task calls for our Union leaders to have innovative ideas; commitment and dedication to workers welfare; and position for a progressive, strong and caring Union. (Source:



On 31 October 1971, the British Far East Command handed over the responsibility of the air defence of Singapore to the Singapore Air Defence Command (SADC). To help ensure continued security, the Five Power Defence Arrangements was established, enabling Singapore and Malaysia to retain some form of security cooperation with the UK, Australia and New Zealand. The five member countries would hold consultation to determine the joint or separate measures required to respond to any external aggression or threat against Malaysia or Singapore.



Plate final of the Standard Chartered Asian Rugby Championships on 31 October 1998 at the National Stadium - Singapore won its first international rugby union trophy.