The health conditions in the 19th century was deplorable with the poor and sick given little outlet to seek medical treatment. A pauper's hospital, the precursor of the Singapore General Hospital set up in 1821 by the British government, was in the 1830s beset with problems due to lack of funding. Tan Tock Seng, an immigrant from the Fujien province in China who became a wealthy merchant, donated $5,000 to set up a hospital for the poor. He was responding to the Governor's request for advice on how to legally enforce the rich to contribute to the welfare of the less well-off. In a letter dated 17 October 1843 to Governor W.J. Butterworth, he also offered land for the hospital. On 25 July 1844, the foundation stone for Tan Tock Seng's Pauper Hospital was laid on Pearl's Hill. The hospital was first called the "Chinese Pauper's Hospital", which was the name engraved on the brass plate commemorating the founding of the hospital. It was later called "Tan Tock Sing Hospital", and it was only in the 1850s when the spelling of the name was officially changed to "Tan Tock Seng".

 


 

The idea to form a company “for the purpose of affording greater facilities for the repairing of vessels” was first proposed by a group of men comprising F. Davidson, C. H. Harrison, C. H. H. Wilson, J. K. Smith, S. Gilfillan, Syed Abdullah, Pochajee Pestonjee, Wei Kow, G. H. Brown, C. Puttfarcken, G. Cramer, Th. Wagner, J. Watson, George Lyon, J. Cameron, R. Riley, J. Fisher, Ong Kew Ho, Thomas Scott, C. P. Lalls and Tan Kim Cheng in a meeting that took place on 1 September 1863. The Tanjong Pagar Dock Company was eventually formed to construct a larger graving (dry) dock on the west side of Tanjong Pagar. The company became the first local joint-stock association of its kind when it officially registered under the Limited Liability Act on 29 September 1864. The land selected for the construction of the company’s first dock was Lease No. 1581. The wharves were completed in August 1866. Then Governor of the Straits Settlements Harry St. George Ord officially opened the dock on 17 October 1868, naming it Victoria Dock.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
2aeba080-ec67-4a62-ba93-407840b26d10)

 


 

Sir Frederick Weld was Governor of Singapore from 1880 to 1887. He was Governor on most of the occasions on which Conrad visited Singapore. He finally left Singapore for England in the S.S. Orestes on 17 October 1887.

 


 

The Singapore Film Society is the longest established organisation on film appreciation in Singapore. Inaugurated on 17 October 1954, it was set up for the “promotion and appreciation of good films among its members”, and membership was “open to people of all races”.



 

TradeNet is an electronic data interchange system that links traders, hauliers, shipping lines, freight forwarders, airlines and handling agents with government agencies like the Trade Development Board (TDB; now known as International Enterprise Singapore), Singapore Customs, and the air and sea port authorities. TradeNet functions as an electronic clearing house for trading papers to be processed and approved by the relevant government agencies. TradeNet is officially launched on 17 October 1989.



 

 

The official opening of Fusionopolis Phase I took place on 17 October 2008, with the prime minister of Singapore, Lee Hsien Loong as guest of honor, under tight security measures.