The second cemetery site was located on the lower slopes of Fort Canning Hill, and was originally about a quarter of the size of the present-day site. The new site was listed as “Lot 576 – Burial ground on Government Hill, two acres” in the register of lands issued by Raffles and the second Resident of Singapore, John Crawfurd. A number of gravestones were relocated from the first site to the second, and the burial ground was divided into separate areas for Protestant and Catholic burials. However, the available space was soon used up, and Reverend Robert Burn, the resident chaplain, applied for a new burial site in May 1827. In April 1830, after some bureaucratic delays, Governor Robert Fullerton authorised Reverend Burn to select and report on a more suitable site, or submit a proposal to enlarge the existing cemetery. Reverend Burn opted for the latter and included in his proposal a plan to enclose the newly enlarged area with a wall. On 6 October 1834, the newly enlarged cemetery was consecrated by the Bishop of Calcutta, Daniel Wilson.




G.D. Coleman was the architect who built the Church of St Andrew, which was similar to St George's Church in Penang and St George's Cathedral in Madras. The Church of St Andrew was completed in 1834. It opened for services on 1 October 1834 and it was consecrated on 6 October 1834 by the Bishop of Calcutta. A spire was added by J.T.Thomson in 1842 because the Church looked like a Town Hall, College or Assembly Room. Before the erection of this Church the Anglican congregation worshipped in an overcrowded Chapel at the junction of Bras Basah Road and North Bridge Road.




On 12 October 1978, at 2:15 pm, an explosion occurred on the Greek tanker, S. T. Spyros, whilst the vessel was undergoing repairs at Jurong Shipyard, causing a fire and leading to 76 dead and 69 injured. Background The S. T. Spyros was owned by Ulysses Tanker Corporation of Liberia and operated by International Operations, S A. The Liberian-registered vessel was built by Mitsubishi Heavy Industries of Japan in 1964 and it is a steam turbine-driven tanker of 64,081 tons deadweight. On 6 October 1978, S. T. Spyros arrived in Singapore for a full special survey and general repairs at Jurong Shipyard. One of the items for repair was the replacement of the missing cover for the drip tray of the vent pipe leading from the aft starboard fuel oil tank.