The change in the Singapore Chronicle paper's fortunes came in September 1835, when the newspaper was sold to Singapore merchant Walter Scott Lorrain. The first issue to bear his imprint was dated 26 September 1835, but he was only a nominee. A month later ownership of the paper was transferred to a Scottish merchant James Fairlie Carnegie from Penang, who had ideas of news distribution throughout the Straits Settlements. But the Penang takeover provoked and spurred a group in Singapore to set up a rival newspaper, The Singapore Free Press and Mercantile Advertiser, which first appeared in October 1835. To compete, the Chronicle halved its price and advertising rates. But in spite of this the business failed. The last issue of the paper was dated Saturday, 30 September 1837.

 


 

 

During the Japanese occupation, Elizabeth Choy and her husband (picture) ran a hospital canteen where prisoners-of-war (POWs) bought food. On 26 September 1943, the Allies conducted a secret raid, code-name Operation Jaywick, at the Singapore harbour. Seven Japanese ships were sunk or severely damaged. In response, the Kempeitai raided Changi Prison and other places across Singapore, and arrested people whom they thought had supplied information to the Allies. Elizabeth Choy and her husband were arrested on suspicion of smuggling radio parts to POWs. At the Kempeitai headquarters, Choy was held with other prisoners in a small cell, which measured only about 10 by 12 feet. She was interrogated and tortured, but refused to confess to crimes that she did not commit. She was finally released after 200 days, the longest time that a female civilian was known to have been held in captivity and tortured.

 

(Source: National Museum - Singapore History Gallery)

 


 

On 26 September 1957, the committee presented its recommendations to the governor in the Report of the Commission of Inquiry into the Port of Singapore, also known as the Millbourn Report. The committee found that the functions of the Singapore Harbour Board were too diverse, which hindered the board from focusing on its primary role of port administration. The Port of Singapore Authority (PSA) was formed on 1 April 1964 following the enactment of the Port of Singapore Authority Ordinance of 1963.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
a7193804-3862-4f99-8b3b-46c867073a95)

 


 

The building of the Benjamin Sheares Bridge began in 1977 at a cost of S$177 million, and was completed on 26 September 1981. It is 1,855 m in 23 spans, making it the longest bridge in Singapore. The bridge is one of modern Singapore's most spectacular and much photographed landmarks. It is also the most magnificent of the expressway bridges, climbing from street level, then soaring over asphalt and water, so high that full-sized ships can pass beneath in its shadows.