On 19 September 1844, Captain Charles Edward Faber arrived in Singapore from Madras. He was appointed as the Sheriff and Marshall for the Court of Judicature. He was also a Superintending Engineer. During his stay in Singapore, he constructed a road up to the top of Telok Blangah Hill to establish a Signal Station there. Captain Faber was also the one who designed the gateways of the entrance to the cemetery at Fort Canning (pictured). To commemorate his contributions, Telok Blangah Hill was officially named Mount Faber in July 1845.

 


 

The Substation opens its doors on 19 September 1990 with 30 days of theatre and artistic sideshows.

 


 

After almost one year, the 128-year-old National Museum of Singapore will re-open its permanent galleries to the public on 19 September 2015.