On 10 September 1863, St. Andrew's School moved from Chin Chew Street to Upper Hokkien Street because of the need for a better building and more space for the growing School. Soon after, Mr Cheok Loy Fatt was appointed the Headmaster and he proved to be the excellent choice.

 


 

 

The Syonan Chureito (also called the Syonan Memorial to the Spirits of the Loyal Soldiers who died in the Battle for Singapore) was unveiled at 11:00 am on 10 September 1942. The unveiling was followed with a religious ceremony carried out according to Shinto rites. Representatives of the four main communities, Dr Lim Boon Keng (pictured) representing the Chinese, S.C. Goho for the Indians, Ibrahim bin Haji Yaacob for the Malays and Dr C. J. Paglar for the Eurasians, were in attendance. Syonan Chureito was built by 500 Allied Prisoners-of-War. It consisted of a 40-foot wooden pylon crowned in a brass cone. At the rear was a small tiled hut, surrounded by a wooden fence. Ashes of a soldier who perished in the Battle for Bukit Timah were placed within this hut. The Bukit Batok Memorial, which consisted of the Syonan Chureito and the British Memorial Cross, was built during the Japanese Occupation to honour the dead soldiers of the Japanese and British forces. Located at the Bukit Batok Hilltop (present Bukit Batok Nature Reserve) in Lorong Sesuai, off Bukit Timah Road, the memorials were destroyed and removed after war. Today, all that remains from the memorial site is a flight of steps leading to where the monuments used to be.

 


 

Although the 1930s was regarded as the golden age of Malay journalism, all the major Malay newspapers of the decade were financed and controlled by non-Malays. The first Malay newspaper with Malay ownership appeared only in the late 1930s, when the first issue of the Utusan Melayu (“Malay Mail”) was published on 29 May 1939. The newspaper was republished as Utusan Melayu on 10 September 1945, five days after the British returned to Singapore. Unfortunately, its original premises on Queen Street were destroyed during the war, and the newspaper’s office then shifted to 185 Cecil Street.

 


 

On 10 September 1959, Speaker Oehlers invited Members “to accept that the Mace is an essential part of the equipment of this Assembly and that this Assembly cannot, in future, be considered to be properly constituted unless the Mace be first brought into the House and laid on the Table”. An ornamental club representing the authority of Parliament and the Speaker. Upon the election of the Speaker, the mace is brought to lie on the Table of the House and rests on the upper brackets. It remains on the upper brackets whenever the Speaker is in the Chair of the House and is removed to the lower brackets beneath the Table when the House sits in Committee. During the Speaker’s procession, it is carried by the Serjeant-at-Arms on his right shoulder as he leads the way when the Speaker enters and leaves the Chamber. Except on occasions when the President addresses Parliament, the House cannot be constituted and no proceedings can take place without the mace.

 


 

The Road Courtesy Campaign launched by then Deputy Prime Minister Toh Chin Chye on 10 September 1966 is the first national campaign to try and instil more awareness of road safety in all road users. It marked the start of a sustained effort in Singapore to bring down the number of road accidents and improve civility on the roads. In 1966 tiny Singapore had the unenviable reputation of having the third highest traffic death rate in Asia. Earlier ad hoc road safety initiatives in Singapore included a traffic game sponsored by Shell in May 1960 for schoolchildren to teach them road safety. At the same time, the Automobile Association ran a road safety campaign.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/articles/
SIP_2014-09-22_112715.html)

 


 

After the war, the hospital reopened as the principal British Military Hospital in Asia. It was handed over to the Singapore Government on 10 September 1971. It reopened as Alexandra Hospital, a civilian hospital, on 15 September 1971.

 


 

On 10 September 1992, the Special Operations Command (SOC) was formally created to combine the Police Task Force, the Police Tactical Team, and the Police Dog Unit under one command.