The architect of King Edward VII College of Medicine was Major P.H. Keys who also designed Fullerton Building which housed the General Post Office as well as other government departments. The foundation stone of the College building was laid on 6 September 1923 and the new building was officially opened by the Governor, Sir Laurence Nunns Guillemard on 15 February 1926.

 


 

In many ways, Terror Camp was an apt name for the Infantry Training Depot in Sembawang (Sembawang Camp). However, the name had nothing to do with the tough training faced by raw recuits. Planned as the British Navy’s fleet shore accommodation, construction of Terror Barracks was completed in 1939. The barracks were commissioned as HMS Sultan II by the survivors of the ill-fated British warships, Prince of Wales and Repulse, that were sunk by Japanese Zero fighters off Kuantan in December 1941. When the Japanese captured Singapore in February 1942, they occupied the camp. Following their defeat by the Allies, the Commander of the Japanese 10th Zone fleet surrendered to CPT H W Briggs of 11th Destroyer Flotilla in the Wardroom (Officers’ Mess) on 6 September 1945.

 


 

Majulah Singapura, our Singapore national anthem was composed in the wake of nationalism during 1956-57 and was first performed as a patriotic song by the Singapore Chamber Ensemble at the opening ceremony of the newly-renovated Victoria Theatre on 6 September 1958.

 


 

In 1961 the PAP split. The pro-communists left to form the Barisan Sosialis. They took with them many unions. On 6 September 1961 Devan Nair led some like-minded unionists to form the NTUC, aligned with the non-communist PAP. With no office of its own, the NTUC officials and union leaders operated from homes and held meetings at public places such as the library and museum near Fort Canning. In 1964, NTUC set up its first office at 208 Queen Street. In the meantime, piling works for the Trade Union House at Shenton Way commenced in August 1962. Officially opened on 15 October 1965, the Trade Union House at Shenton Way was the headquarters of the NTUC for 35 years until August 2000 when NTUC bought over and shifted its office to the building formerly owned by POSBank at Bras Basah Road. NTUC finally moved into its present home at the NTUC Centre in One Marina Boulevard in February 2004.