The Singapore Medical College Graduates’ Association was inaugurated on 5 September 1923 by a group of graduates of the King Edward VII College of Medicine at a meeting in the Victoria Memorial Hall in Singapore. It was managed by a general committee of 12, representing the Straits Settlements and the Malay States, with Dr Chen Su Lan (who was also a founder member of the original association) elected as its first president. Dr Chen had returned from a visit to the USA, where the significant role the alumni played in the community had left a deep impression on him.



The Raffles Library and Museum was taken over by the Japanese and renamed Syonan Hakubutsu Kan during the Japanese Occupation of Singapore between 15 February 1942 to 12 September 1945. On 2 September 1945, the Japanese army surrendered to the Allied forces on board the USS Missouri. The Union Jack flag was raised at the museum by Chief Clerk, Quan Ah Gun on 5 September 1945, marking the end of Japanese Occupation in Singapore. The Directorship of the library and museum was taken over by Lieutenant-Colonel G Archey of the British Military Administration on 6 September 1945.




The Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (ASME) is a non-governmental, non-profit body founded in 1986 by a group of entrepreneurs to provide an avenue through which “entrepreneurs from diverse industries and services [could] meet and share their knowledge and experience.” The establishment of the ASME was in tandem with the national pro-enterprise drive initiated during Singapore’s “second industrial revolution”. Approval for its formation was given by the government on 5 September 1986.





Mr Mah Bow Tan, Minister for National Development, opened Dairy Farm Nature Park on Saturday 5 September 2009.