On 25 May 1957 a group of students from Madrasah Raudatil Atfal and students of the late Ustaz Abdul Rahman Harun, Ustaz Rijal Abdullah and Ustaz Amir Esa had organized an Eid Adha Hari Raya Gathering. In that gathering the students had unanimously agreed to strengthen their group and officially established a Sunnah/Salafi movement in Singapore. Pursuant to that meeting, the name MUHAMMADIYAH was chosen and submitted to the Registrar of Societies. It was considered most suitable and relevant. In that meeting a protem Committee of 13 members were also chosen and were tasked to draft its constitution. The Protem Committee later called for a General Meeting on 25th December 1957 to officiate its formation. At this General Meeting, the 13 members of the protem committee were elected to manage the new association. On 2 September 1958 the Constitution of Muhammadiyah was sent to the Registrar of Societies for approval.



The Monetary Authority of Singapore (MAS) Bill was passed by parliament on 2 September 1970, and the Monetary Authority of Singapore Act came into force on 26 December that same year. Following the enactment of the act, the MAS commenced operation on 1 January 1971.




The building was previously known as Kaki Bukit Primary School with classes held at its building in Kaki Bukit. When it moved to the current premises at 50 Bedok Reservoir Crescent on 2 September 1984, the school was renamed Bedok West Primary School. Damai Primary School has merged with Bedok West Primary School in January 2015.



On 2 September 1985, Wee Kim Wee was sworn in as Singapore's fourth president after CV Devan Nair resigned on 28 March 1985.


Tuas Naval Base was officially opened by Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong on 2 September 1994. It is situated at the western part of Singapore and covers about 28 hectares of land with more than 2 km of berthing space. Its facilities include a floating dock with a lifting capacity of 600 tons and an Automated Storage and Retrieval Warehouse. It is home to several operational and support units.