In 1947, Char Yong (Dabu) Association bought over No. 30 Cairnhill Road and converted it into a school building. Khee Fatt School at Cairnhill Road was established on 10 August 1947. It received financial support from the members of the Association and money obtained as compensation from the Eastern Telephone Company. By 1951, the pupil population rose to about eight hundred. Khee Fatt School, presently known as Qifa Primary School was re-located to 50 West Coast Avenue.

 


 


Click on the picture to enlarge the full front page of
The Straits Times dated 10 August 1965.
(Source: The Sunday Times on 9 August 2015)

 


 

Built in 1920 as Singapore's third impounding reservoir, Seletar Reservoir was officially opened by Her Royal Highness, Princess Alexandra on 10 August 1969. In 1992, it was renamed as Upper Seletar Reservoir and became a marked conservation site in 1999.