At 4 pm BST (British Summer Time) on 29 July 1948, King George VI of the United Kingdom declared open the 14th Olympic Games held in London. High-jumper Lloyd Oscar Valberg was one of 6,000 athletes in the stadium to witness the opening ceremony. As the colony’s sole representative in the games, Valberg became the first athlete to represent Singapore in an Olympic Games.





School of Nursing & Vicker’s House - In the early years after the founding of Singapore, nursing duties were first performed by convicts. It was only until 1885, with the arrival of 11 convent sisters from England that female nurses made their presence at the hospital. The war had served as a catalyst for public recognition of nursing services. In 1949, all nurses are to be registered for practice in Singapore. In 1951, the General Hospital saw its first batch of local nurses to be promoted to Ward Sister. To cater for the increasing demand for more trained nurses, Vicker’s House, a new Nurses’ Hostel was declared opened on 29 July 1953, while a new Nurse training School and Nurses’ Hostel (PTS Hostel) were formally opened on 10 Sep 1956. With the increase intake of student nurses, a new School of Nursing, constructed on the site of the old Maternity Hospital was opened in Sep 1959.




Yusof Ishak Secondary School was established in 1965 as Jubilee Integrated Secondary School. It was an integrated school offering secondary education to an enrolment of 984 pupils and 37 teachers of two streams, in English and Malay. On 29 July 1966, then Prime Minister, Mr Lee Kuan Yew declared open Yusof Ishak Secondary School (YISS) at Jubilee Road. We are the only school to be named after a President of our Republic. In 1992, we became the first school to top the value-added ranking in both the Express and Normal Streams. In Dec 1998, we moved to our Bukit Batok Campus. The new school building was officially opened on 29 July 2000 by Dr Ong Chit Chung, MP, Bukit Timah GRC.