Trams were one of the earliest modes of public transport in Singapore but were phased out by end of 1927. The electric tramways opened to the public on 24 July 1905 to little fanfare. There was little public interest as they seemed to be contented with the already established modes of transport then available. Run-ins with bullock carts and rickshaw drivers as well as vandals troubled the electric tram operations. But the growth of the island's commerce provided the impetus for increased hauls, which included passengers though people traffic on the trams increased slowly. The competition from rickshaws was still stiff. The reduction in tram fares increased ridership to 32 000 in 1909, and at the end of that year, the company was in the black with an ultra-modest profit of £134.

 


 

Goh Eng Wah is one of the pioneers in Singapore's film industry. During the 1960s, his cinemas became popular for screening the latest Chinese films in Singapore. He also ventured into film production and received several Asian Film Festival awards for films that he financed, such as "Teddy Girls" and "Hiroshima 28". These films were produced in Hong Kong and screened in Singapore. In 1966, he bought Jubilee Theatre (now Jubilee Hall in Raffles Hotel). Two years later, he acquired another cinema located at Tiong Bahru called King's Theatre. On 24 July 1968, Eng Wah Theatres Organization Pte Ltd was incorporated.

 


 

On 24 July 1975, the first intake of full-time police NS officers was enlisted.

 


 

Formerly named The Singapore Girl Guides Association, the association renamed to its present name, Girl Guides Singapore, on 24 July 2004.