The Municipal Building (City Hall building, now part of National Gallery Singapore) was completed and declared open on 23 July 1929.



Indian Bank Singapore Branch commenced operations in Singapore on 23 July 1941. Their niche areas of operations are Trade Financing and Retail Banking, and Indian Rupee Remittances in particular.



SASCO LTD, then known as “The Singapore Urban Co-operative Union Ltd” was established on 16 Nov 1933 by 12 thrift & loan co-operatives to serve as a coordinating body. Its objectives were to provide for a central organization to facilitate co-ordination, collaboration and dissemination of information amongst the growing number of co-operative societies then. On 23 July 1954, its name was changed to the “Singapore Co-operative Union Ltd” and on May 1972, it was changed to the Singapore National Co-operative Union Ltd” (SNCU).



Construction of Paya Lebar Airport began in 1952. By mid-1955 the airport was ready for flight trials. The first was conducted on 23 July 1955 with two landings made by a Malayan Airways plane piloted by First Officer Chan Soon Kim.



St. John Headquarters, 2016,


St. John Ambulance Headquarters was officially opened on 23 July 1960 by Yang di-Pertuan Negara of Singapore and later First President of Singapore.




Big Splash was built in 1977 by Singapore Aquatic Sports Pte Ltd (owned by Goldhill Properties) on a 2.8-hectare site in the new East Coast Park. The park opened on 23 July 1977 at 8 a.m. All the pools in the complex were filled with sea water and had a sand bottom to create the impression of a beach. The land lease expires in October 2016, , the site will be returned to the Government for redevelopment, thus bringing the curtain down on one of Singapore's first water theme parks.