St Joseph’s Institution (SJI) is Singapore’s oldest Catholic boys’ school. It was founded on 22 July 1852 by Father Jean-Marie Beurel of the Missions Érangères de Paris (The Society of Foreign Missions of Paris).

 


 

Officially opened on 22 July 1929, Raffles College was dedicated to “the promotion of arts, science and learning and the provision of higher education for students without distinction of sex, race, nationality or religion.” It was the first institution on higher learning available in Malaya and later merged in 1949 with the King Edward VII School of Medicine to form University of Malaya, a precursor to the National University of Singapore.

 


 

The Family Planning Association (FPA) of Singapore was formed on 22 July 1949 to introduce family planning services to the general public.

 


 

The Singapore Harbour Board Staff Association (SHBSA), currently known as Singapore Port Workers' Union, was Singapore's first union to be officially registered under the Trade Unions Ordinance in October 1946. With the Port of Singapore as the cornerstone of the Singapore economy, the Association has played a vital role in the economic growth of Singapore. It has come a long way from a fledging union in the immediate post-war years through the turbulent 1950s and early 1960s to become a major partner in Singapore's progress from the 1970s to the present. In 1961, pro-communist members of the PAP split from the party and formed Barisan Sosialis. As a result, the trade unions were split into two camps - the pro-PAP National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), and the pro-Barisan Singapore Association of Trade Unions (SATU). By that time, SHBSA had been deeply infiltrated by the pro-communists and it joined SATU. In 1963, SHBSA Secretary-General Jamit Singh and Treasurer Yeow Fook Yuen were arrested for alleged criminal misappropriation of union funds. On 22 July 1963, SHBSA and several affiliated trade unions were de-registered for breaches of the Trade Unions Ordinance and their respective constitutions. SHBSA was re-registered on 10 January 1964 under a new constitution and became an affiliate of NTUC.

 


 

NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd was founded by the labour movement in 1973, with a social mission to moderate the cost of living in Singapore. The first NTUC Welcome supermarket at Toa Payoh was opened by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew on 22 July 1973. In 1983, NTUC Welcome merged with the Singapore Employees Co-operative to form NTUC Fairprice Co-operative Ltd.

 


 

Two "Lion Monuments" or Merdeka Lions once stood, one at each end of the Merdeka Bridge. When Merdeka Bridge was widened and upgraded in 1966, they were relocated to Stadium Walk, near the entrance of of Kallang Park. In 1987, the Public Works Department handed over the lions to the Ministry of Defence and temporarily placed them at the old Singapore Armed Forces Institute (SAFTI). On 22 July 1995, the lions were installed at their present site, the SAF Military Institute (SAFTI) in Upper Jurong Road.

 


 

 

Suntec City is a major multi-use development located in Marina Centre. Construction began on 18 January 1992 (with earthworks) followed by full completion and opening on 22 July 1997.