Jurong Drive-In Cinema was located at 11 Japanese Garden Road, Singapore 619229. Opened on 14 July 1941, it was a first of its kind in Singapore and the largest in Asia. The drive-in cinema was situated along Yuan Ching Road, just opposite of where Block 105 is. Covering 55,602 sq metres, the premises could accommodate 899 cars & 300 walk-in patrons. There were two shows a day (7pm & 9pm) and tickets were sold at S$2 (adult) & S$1 (child). The cinema showcased mainly Chinese movies, featuring actors such as Bruce Lee. It was considered one of the earliest and most unique recreation to exist in Singapore. After 14 years, on 30 September 1985, the cinema had to close its doors because of poor attendance attributed to increase in real estate value, video piracy, affordability of VCRs due to improvements in technology and people no longer found it a novelty. Today, the Fairway Country Club sits on the same site as where the Jurong Drive-In Cinema used to be.

 


 

Prior to the formation of the Singapore Film Society on 17 October 1954, a society of the same name was established on 14 July 1948 by a group of locals with the objective of organising film screenings of artistic, historical and educational pictures that were not usually screened in cinemas. The society, which started with an initial membership of 50, was led by Tan Thoon Lip as president and Lim Choo Sye as secretary. However, the society struggled to survive due to the high cost of acquiring these films, entertainment tax and the lack of suitable viewing facilities, and eventually dissolved.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
5b84a84c-5fbc-4c7c-a178-f7a4a4159ab4)

 


 

On 14 July 1955, the delicate balance of industrial relations was challenged once again when workers of the Singapore Traction Co. Ltd. (STC) presented new demand for wage increment. The demand, which would inflict a yearly loss of £500,000 on the Company, provided little room for negotiation.  It also came shortly after an agreement was reached in February 1954, which stipulated no demand of increment for two years.  When STC rejected the demand, the Singapore Traction Co. Employees Union announced their intention to hold a strike from 27 September. In October and November, the Chairman of STC flew in from London to negotiate with the Union, but the talks failed.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/infopedia/
articles/SIP_1241_2008-11-30.html)

 


 

Riverside Secondary School has its humble beginnings in 1987 at Fuchun Secondary School under caretaker Principal Mrs Ngiam Geak Kim where it was holding its first batch of Secondary One pupils together with 9 teachers and two non-academic staff members. Under the pioneer Principal, Mr O. J. Balasingam, Riverside moved into its present premises at Woodlands Street 81 on 21 December 1987 where it started operating from 4 January 1988. It is the 3rd school built under Phase Two of the S100 Secondary School Type. It has most of the modern facilities including an underground rifle range, air-conditioned library and self-study facilities. The school was officially opened by Mr Lee Yiok Seng, MP for Bukit Panjang on 14 July 1990.

 


 

 

On 14 July 1999, when Cathay Organisation mounted a reverse takeover on IMM Multi-Enterprise Ltd (IME) which was then listed on the SESDAQ. IME was subsequently renamed Cathay Organisation Holdings Ltd. In December 2000, Cathay Cineplexes Pte Ltd became Singapore’s first cinema operator to achieve ISO 9002 certification awarded by the Singapore Productivity and Standards Board (PSB). On 1 June 2006, Cathay Organisation effected its voluntary delisting from SESDAQ.