The first Coleman Bridge (1840) was a brick structure consisting of nine arches. To cater to increased traffic between the north and south of town, this bridge was replaced in 1865 by a timber bridge, whilst retaining the name, Coleman Bridge. However, it was not well constructed and was again replaced on 10 July 1886. Initially named "New Bridge", this third three-lane bridge was once one of Singapore's most elegant bridges with graceful shallow arches, decorative columns, ornamental gas lamp stands and intricate iron balustrades.

 



A by-election was held on 10 July 1965 to fill the Legislative Assembly seat for the Hong Lim constituency. It was called after Ong Eng Guan of the United People’s Party resigned from his seat on 16 June. Nomination day was held on 30 June. The by-election was a straight fight between Lee Khoon Choy of the People’s Action Party (PAP) and Ong Chang Sam of the Barisan Sosialis (BS).

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
77af96c4-f0f9-4418-9e47-cbfab0a94940)

 


 

Formed under the aegis of Singapore Manufacturers’ Association, Singapore Furniture Industries Council was inaugurated on 10 July 1981 as the official representative body of furniture manufacturers and exporters in Singapore.