The Raffles Library and Museum was officially opened by Sir Frederick Weld, Governor of the Straits Settlement on 12 October 1887, at the present Singapore History Museum. The period spanning 1887 to 1942 were the formative years for both the library and museum. R. Hanitsch (Dr) became the first Director of Raffles Library and Museum in September 1908. He retired on 7 July 1919, and was succeeded by Major J.C. Moulton.

 


 


 

Opened on 8 September 1955 in River Valley Road, the Van Kleef Aquarium was named after a former Dutch resident, Mr K W B Van Kleef, who bequeathed his estate to Singapore in a will dated 7 July 1900. The Municipal Commission made plans to build the aquarium in 1933, but these were put on hold when the war broke out and only resumed in the 1950s.

 


 

Parliament House (after extensive renovations) was originally built as the residence of John Argyle Maxwell a Java merchant and was bought over by the Government to establish the Court House. In 1954 alterations and renovations were made to convert the building into the Assembly House (the legislature) which was officially opened by the Governor Sir John Nicoll on 7 July 1954. The former Singapore's Parliament House - the symbol of parliamentary democracy, the Rule of Law of the Republic of Singapore. It is the oldest government building in Singapore.

 



Singapore Polytechnic, Dover Road campus, officially opened by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew on 7 July 1979.

 



On 7 July 1989, the historic district of Kampong Glam bounded by Jalan Sultan, Rochore Canal Road, Arab Street and Beach Road, was gazetted a conservation area. In 1993, the Singapore Government first announced its plans to develop the Istana Kampong Glam since it was located in the 16 ha Kampong Glam Conservation area. Residents were given ample time to make their own housing arrangements. Then on 12 March 1999, it was announced that the Istana would be converted into a "Malay Heritage Centre". A multi-million dollar plan is in the pipeline to redevelop Istana Kampong Glam, one of Singapore's most famous historical landmarks.

 



To better manage congestion within the city centre, the 5 new ERP gantries along the Singapore River Line will be operational from 7 July 2008. The five gantries on the Singapore River Line will run roughly along the Singapore River from Clemenceau Ave to Fullerton Road, separating the commercial and shopping areas such as the Suntec area from the office-based areas such as Shenton Way/Robinson Road. These 5 gantries serve to reduce through traffic from using the city area for outbound trips in the evening, similar in concept to the Orchard Cordon where ERP was implemented to reduce through-traffic which would otherwise use Orchard Road to get to other areas. Traffic speeds on these roads are below the optimal speed range, based on the revised criteria. The 5 gantries on the Singapore River Line will operate from 6pm to 8pm on weekdays. Two of the new gantries - namely Eu Tong Sen Street and Fullerton Road (towards Esplanade Drive) - will operate on Saturday from 12.30pm to 8pm.