Telok Ayer Market was constructed in 1890-1894. The building was built on reclaimed land, which was made of cast iron from Glasgow, Scotland. Now fully restored, it is home to many popular local food stalls, which is collectively known as Lau Pa Sat Festival Market. The Sri Mariamman Temple is Singapore's oldest Hindu temple located at 244 South Bridge Road. These two buildings were gazetted on 6 July 1973 as national monuments by the Preservation of Monuments Board.

 



Jing Shan Primary School was founded in 1945 as Chin San School (originally known as Cheng San School) in Cheng San village. The medium of instruction then was Chinese. The school moved to 502 Cheng San Road in 1955 to make way for the development of Serangoon Gardens Estate. In 1980, with increase in enrolment and the Ministry of Education's policy to rebuild schools which are not structurally suitable, the school had to operate at borrowed premises at Chong Li Primary School, Chong Boon Primary School, Deyi Secondary School and Mayflower Secondary School. On 7 May 1982, it moved to its present location at Ang Mo Kio Street 52, off Ang Mo Kio Avenue 10. The school was officially opened by the Minister of State (Finance) and MP for Cheng San, Mr Lee Yock Suan, on 6 July 1984.

 


 

Heart transplant operations were not available in Singapore before 1990. Singapore was only ready for it in early 1990 when the Ministry of Health announced its decision to allow heart and liver transplants in Singapore. A pilot heart transplant programme was already in place at the Singapore General Hospital (SGH) two years before where doctors in the programme had been training and preparing for heart transplant operations. Following the Ministry of Health's announcement, SGH doctors began looking for suitable donors for its heart patients. On 6 July 1990, Wee Soo Hup, 59, a retired information officer at the Ministry of Communications and Information, became the first heart transplant recipient in Singapore.