Chulia Street used to be called Kling Street, which was regarded as derogatory leading to the street being renamed Chulia Street, after the Chulias who migrated to Singapore from Southern India. On 1 August 1921, The Straits Times carried a notice from the Municipal Office advertising that "from January 1, 1922, the name of the street extending from Raffles Square to South and North canal Roads at present known as Kling Street will be changed to Chulia Street". The notice was issued by the Municipal Office on 4 July 1921.

 


 

 

Park Mall was retrofitted in 1991 by Wingain Investment Pte Ltd and opening ceremony officiated by Mr S Dhanabalan, Minister for National Development on 4 July 1992. The above 15-storey building opened in 1971 was then known as Supreme House, its anchor tenant was department store Metro. The first change of owners for the mall came when Supreme Holdings sold the building to Wing Tai Holdings for $168 million in 1989. Wing Tai renamed it Park Mall. In 2005, Suntec Reit acquired Park Mall from Wing Tai for $230 million. December 2015, a joint venture acquired Park Mall for $411.8 million. The 45-year-old mall will be demolished and redevelped, Park Mall to shut at end of September 2016.

 


 

Singapore Chinese Girls’ School (SCGS) opened on Hill Street, with seven Straits Chinese girls on 1 July 1899. Conditions became cramped and the government stepped in to offer another piece of land on the corner of Hill Street and Armenian Street (where the Fire Station now stands). Then the government dropped a bombshell, saying it wanted its land back by 1924. No. 37 Emerald Hill was chosen as the new home. After 70 long and eventful years at Emerald Hill, SCGS made the move to Dunearn Road on 4 July 1994.

 


 

Goh Eng Wah is one of the pioneers in Singapore's film industry. He founded Eng Wah Organization, a major film distributor and cinema operator specialising in screening Chinese movies from Hong Kong and Taiwan. In 1945, Goh and a friend started a cinema, the Victory Theatre, in Happy World Amusement Park (later known as Gay World). The cinema became popular with the locals even though it was screening Japanese propaganda flicks. As his cinema business grew, he acquired more theatres. In 1968, he established Eng Wah Theatres Organization Pte Ltd. Eng Wah Organization became a public listed company on 4 July 1994.