On 1 July 1899, Singapore Chinese Girls School opened on Hill Street, with seven Straits Chinese girls. It was the result of the perseverance, courageous spirit and visionary leadership of the pioneers, chief among them Sir Song Ong Siang and Dr Lim Boon Keng.

 


 

Citibank first established its operations in Singapore on 1 July 1902. It was then known as the International Banking Corporation (IBC) and was the first American bank to set up a branch in Singapore. Located at 1 Prince Street, IBC was primarily involved in the trade financing of Malayan rubber and tin exports in the early twentieth century.

 

(Source: http://www.citibank.com.sg/gcb/static/ab_hcs.htm)

 


 

The Central Provident Fund (CPF) is an important component of Singapore’s social security structure. Introduced in 1953 before coming into effect on 1 July 1955, the CPF is a compulsory savings scheme that requires all employers and employees to contribute a portion of the employee’s monthly gross salary to the provident fund.

 


 

A newspaper for the local Malay community, Berita Harian was established on 1 July 1957. It presents news and issues from home, the region and the world, featuring a wide spectrum of topics from sports to politics and religion. Other highlights include Malay culture and tradition, arts and heritage, family, hobbies and leisure.

 


 

Legal Aid Bureau was set up on 1 July 1958 as a department under the Ministry of Labour and Welfare. It was housed at the former Ministry of Labour Building at Havelock Road. With that, Singapore became the first country in South East Asia to have a legal aid scheme.

 


 

On 1 July 1963, the merger between the Royal Singapore Golf Club and the Royal Island Club proceeded, and the new club was named the Singapore Island Country Club (SICC).  The last evening when the two clubs were to exist as separate entities witnessed two different kind of celebrations at the clubs; merriment at the club at Thomson as members of the Royal Island Club looked forward to new experiences, and gloom at the club at Bukit Timah as members of the Royal Singapore Golf Club lowered the Union Jack and bade farewell to a privileged era.

 


 

Immigration Control at Causeway. Passports and travel documents were not required till 1 July 1967 when both Singaporeans and Malaysians had to produce them to enter Singapore. The Singapore Restricted Passport Centre was set up in South Quay. It moved to Outram Road in 1976 and closed its doors on 31 December 1994.

 

(Source: http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=208)

 


 

The first SAF day, then known as Armed Forces Day, was held on 1 July 1969 and witnessed a 1,500-strong contingent of servicemen and women in a grand parade finale and march-past at Jalan Besar Stadium. On a day filled with regimentation and pledges of loyalty, the most solemn moment was the presentation of the SAF Flag for the first time to the 3rd Battalion, Singapore Infantry Regiment (SIR).

 


 

Changi Airport Terminal 1 began operations on 1 July 1981. It replaced Paya Lebar Airport, which had become overwhelmed by the immense volume of passenger air traffic.

 


 

 

On 1 July 2003, Catholic Welfare Services, Singapore took over the management of St Theresa's Home from the Little Sisters, with the support of the Brothers of Mercy and Infant Jesus Sisters.

 


 

It is the first day at the new Woodlands Train Checkpoint on 1 July 2011. The first train bound for Kelantan, Thye Sinaran Timur, left the new Woodlands Train Checkpoint at 5.45am. Meanwhile, the first train to pull in at the checkpoint, the Senandung Sutera from Kuala lumpur, arrived at about 6.40am.