Sir Stamford Raffles' Statue, sculpted by Thomas Woolner, is a popular icon of Singapore. The statue depicts Raffles, standing tall, arms folded, with an aura of quiet assurance. It was installed on Jubilee Day on 27 June 1887 at the Padang and relocated to the Empress Place during the Centenary Celebrations on 6 February 1919.

 


 

Fullerton Building was built on 1924 and opened on 27 June 1928. Its first occupants were the Singapore General Post Office, the Singapore Club, and other government offices. The General Post Office occupied the first three floors. The post office had a 300-ft curved counter reputed to be the longest in the world. A remarkable feature of the post office is a subterranean passageway underFullerton Road that links it to pier, enabling mails that are transported by ship to be brought directly to the post office. Above the General Post Office is the exclusive Singapore Club, with members including the cream of Singapore society. Today is the Fullerton Hotel.

 


 

Lim Bo Seng's wife, Madam Choo Neo, learnt of his death only after Japanese surrendered and travelled to Batu Gajah, Perak to collect the remains of her late husband. A daring brave soul who fought till the bitter end, Major General Lim Bo Seng was buried with military honours at MacRitchie Reservoir. This monument precedes the previous memorial which was built over his grave in MacRitchie Reservoir in 27 June 1952 by the Lim Bo Seng Memorial Committee.

 


 

The Singapore Zoological Gardens was founded by the late Dr Ong Swee Law. In the late 1960s, Dr Ong, the then Chairman of the Public Utilities Board (PUB) felt that some of the forested catchment areas adjoining the reservoirs, which came under PUB's purview, should be made more accessible to the public. Eventually, the idea of a zoo arose. With the Government's support of S$9 million and after almost six years of hard work, the Singapore Zoological Gardens finally opened its gates to guests on 27 June 1973.