Lt. Colonel (later Major-General) William Farquhar was the First British Resident and Commandant of Singapore from 1819-1823. He entered the East India Company's service as cadet in the Madras Engineers at the age of twenty, in 1790. Arrived in Madras on 19 June 1791, and shortly after on 22 June 1791, was promoted to a low-rank commissioned officer of the Madras Engineers. Two years later on 16 August 1793, he became a Lieutenant in the Madras Engineers.

 


 


Screen grab 2016

 

The Republic of Singapore Yacht Club has its origins in 1826 as the Singapore Yacht Club. Mr Maxwell Blake, better known to his many friends in Singapore as “Max” Blake, a commodore of SYC in 1919. In order to qualify as a naval architect, William Maxwell Blake (WMB) had to study engineering. So he moved to Wivenhoe in Colchester. When he qualified, WMB got a job in Singapore where he was naval architect to the firm of Riley Hargreaves. In 1912 WMB was employed by Riley Hargreaves as manager of the shipyard and timber sawmill at Tanjong Rhu, then a remote isthmus on which boats and small craft, both native and European, were built and launched. Shortly after World War I ended, WMB and some other keen sailing friends in 1919 helped to revive the Singapore Yacht Club, based at the shipyard at Tanjong Rhu. WMB died on 19 June 1939 and his funeral was arranged to take place at St Johns church, Felixtowe by the then Rector Cox.

 


 

Sri Srinivasa Perumal Temple is one of the oldest Hindu temples in Singapore. The Sri Srinavasa Perumal Temple dates back to 1851, when Hindu community leaders including Arunachala Pillay, Mr Cootaperumal Pillay, Mr Ramasamy Pillay, Mr Appasamy Pillay, Mr Chockalingam Pillay and Mr Ramasamy Jamidar sought to purchase a piece of land from the East India Company for the purpose of worshipping Vishnu. The original temple structure remained unchanged until the early 1950s by which time it was in dire need of a facelift and upgrading works. In 1952, the MHEB decided to rebuild and reinstate the Temple. Redevelopment was only carried out in the early 1960s when well known Indian community leader and philanthropist Mr P. Govindasamy Pillay financed much of the works. Mr Pillay is credited with building the first two storey marriage hall within the temple. It was officially opened by Enche Yusoff Bin Ishak, the first president of Singapore on 19 June 1965.

 


 

With effect from 19 June 2002, the Employment Pass Department (EPD) of the Ministry of Manpower, currently located at 10 Kallang Road, SIR Building, #05-B-17/18 will relocate to a new premise at 9 Maxwell Road, #03-01, Annexe A, MND Complex, Singapore 069112.