St. Andrew's Cathedral is an Anglican Cathedral located next to the City Hall MRT station. The foundation stone of the original church was laid on 9 November 1834. The building was designed by George D. Coleman, in his trademark Palladian style, and constructed between 1834 and 1836. It was named after the patron saint of Scotland because initial financial support came from the local Scottish community. The first church service was held on 18 June 1837 and was conducted by the first Chaplain Reverend Edmund White.

 


 

The Cathedral of the Good Shepherd, stands at the junction of Queen Street and Bras Basah Road. It is the earliest Catholic church in Singapore and is today the seat of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese and Archbishop. The foundation stone for the Cathedral was laid on 18 June 1843 and construction was completed by 1847.

 


 

A collection of 1,000 published books and journals, originally belonging to Carl Alexander Gibson-Hill's personal library, was donated to the National Library on 18 June 1965 by Mrs Loke Yew on behalf of her son, Loke Wan Tho. It was considered as one of the more outstanding private collections of works related to Malaya, and is held at the Singapore and Southeast Asia Collection of the National Library, Singapore.

 


 

Located on 88 hectares of land along Upper Jurong Road, the SAFTI Military Institute (SAFTI MI) is arguably the most impressive if not the most imposing structure of all SAF buildings. The MI was then simply known as the 'Singapore Armed Forces Training Institute', or SAFTI was officially opened on 18 June 1966 by then Minister of Defence, Dr Goh Keng Swee. It was the first military training institute to be established by the government to train officers and non-commissioned officers (NCOs or Specialists as they are known today) to lead the then embryonic SAF.