With the enthusiasm and energy of Justice Goldney, its first president, and R. N. Bland, its first treasurer, the Singapore Golf Club (or Golf Club, Singapore’s first golf club) was opened on 17 June 1891 by Governor Sir Cecil and Lady Clementi Smith, at the racecourse belonging to the Singapore Sporting Club (founded in 1842). It was located at where Farrer Park is today and stretched down to Buffalo Road. However, the golfers had to share the grounds with the jockeys and the horses. The first 50-acre, 9-hole golf course was a very fair one with excellent hazards by the rails and sundry ditches with broken grounds.

 


 

Nan Hwa Girls School established 17 June 1917 at Coleman Street. Relocated to Bencoolen Street in 1921. Relocated to Adis Road in 1941. Closed during the war and reopened in October 1945. Renamed Nan Hwa Girls' High School in 1956. Main school became secondary school and branch school became primary school in 1964. Relocated to 330, Clementi Ave 1 on 12 December 1982. Admitted boys and renamed Nan Hua Secondary School in 1984. Relocated to current site in 2004. Renamed to Nan Hua High School in 2006.

 


 

 

Balestier Plain also witnessed the laying of the Foundation Stone of Singapore Indian Association on 17 June 1950 by Pandit Jawaharlala Nehru, the first Prime Minister of India.

 


 

The National Stadium of Singapore opened in 1973 by then Prime Minister Lee Kuan Yew. For over three decades, it was used for many major sporting, cultural, entertainment and social events, such as the 1983 and 1993 Southeast Asian (SEA) Games, the second-leg final of the 2004 Tiger Cup, and the concerts of popular artistes like Michael Jackson, Mariah Carey and A*Mei. It was also the venue for 18 National Day Parades. This national icon was closed in June 2007 to make way for the new S$1.87 billion Singapore Sports Hub. 17 Jun 1973 saw the first event held at the stadium, an international hockey friendly between Singapore and Australia.

 


 

The National University Hospital (NUH) established in 1985 is Singapore’s only university hospital. It serves as a tertiary hospital as well as a clinical training centre and a research centre for the medical and dental faculties of the National University of Singapore (NUS). NUH was originally known as the Kent Ridge Hospital according to its proposal as early as 1972, NUH received its new staff on 15 January 1985 (on the same day itself, Kent Ridge Hospital was renamed to NUH) and opened to the public and received its first patients on 24 June 1985. The hospital was officially opened on 17 June 1986 by Mr Goh Chok Tong, then First Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Defence.

 


 

Central Expressway (CTE) connects the Seletar Expressway (SLE) at its junction with the Tampines Expressway (TPE) in the north to the Ayer Rajah Expressway (AYE) in the south near its junction with the East Coast Parkway (ECP). The portion of expressway between Yio Chu Kang and Ang Mo Kio Avenue 5 was officially opened on 17 June 1989 by the Member of Parliament for Cheng San GRC, Heng Chiang Meng. The construction of this 1.7 km three-lane carriageway stretch of the expressway was delayed by almost two years due to resettlement problems when residents in the area had to be moved.

 


 

Clementi Community Children's Library was officially opened on 17 June 1993, by Mr. Bernard Chen Tien Lap MP for Brickworks GRC. This joint project between NLB and the PAP Community Foundation (PCF) aims to bring libraries closer to young children and promote the reading habit at an early age. The theme of the library, 'Planetarium', is embodied in the colourful wall murals and furnishings.