Completed in 1841, the Insane Hospital was situated at the corner of Bras Basah Road and Bencoolen Street. In spite of the unfortunate death that occurred, due regard was still not given to mental health care. Conditions at the Hospital were not better than had been at Convict Gaol. It was a 30-bed hospital, and the number of lunatics seldom exceeded 30 or 40. The lunatics were taken care of by warders who also guarded the convicts jailed in the adjacent brick structure. Colonel W. J. Butterworth was made Governor of the Settlements on 14 June 1843. On his familiarisation tour of government institutions, he noticed the poor conditions at the Hospital.

 


 

After the Singapore Swimming Club at Tanjong Rhu humble beginnings, the Club's membership began picking up. It steadily rose from 65 men in 1894 to 79 in 1895 and then to 116 members in 1899, with S$835 in the Club's coffers. In 1895, the Club decided to allow ladies in on Wednesdays. On 26 January 1895, the first "Aquatic Sports" meet of the Club was held with a reportedly large turn-out. On 14 June 1897, the Club held its inaugural swimming race.

 


 

 

The Mission decided to place the Hakka Christians with the Cantonese in this new church dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. However, due to some complications, the property was sold and the present one at Tank Road was purchased in 1903. Although a public subscription was started for the building of the main church, the Mission still had to depend on the generosity of Chan Teck Hee to erect the church’s presbytery cum orphanage in 1906. The foundation stone of the church was laid on 14 June 1908, and by 11 September 1910 Sacred Heart Church was completed, blessed and opened.