On 7 June 1823, John Crawfurd signed a second treaty with the Sultan and Temenggong, which extended British possession to most of the island. The Sultan and Temenggong traded most of their administrative rights of the island, including the collection of port taxes for lifelong monthly payments of $1500 and $800 respectively. This agreement brought the island under the British Law, with the provision that it would take into account Malay customs, traditions and religion. Raffles replaced Farquhar with John Crawfurd, an efficient and frugal administrator, as the new governor. In October 1823, Raffles departed for Britain and would never return to Singapore as he died in 1826, at the age of 44. In 1824, Singapore was ceded in perpetuity to the East India Company by the Sultan.

 

(Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/History_of_Singapore)

 


 

The Singapore Badminton Hall was officially opened on 7 June 1952 by then governor of Singapore, J. F. Nicoll. Located on Guillemard Road, the hall was originally built to host the 1952 Thomas Cup, a premier international badminton competition, but the games were eventually held at the Happy World Stadium. Recognised as a historical site by the National Heritage Board on 1 September 1999, it was relinquished to the government after its land lease expired in January 2008, and reopened as Guillemard Village in 2009.

 


 

In January 1966, MacPherson Primay School started as an integrated school. English and Chinese were the mediums of instruction. Official Opening of the school was on 7 June 1967.

 


 

 

The Singapore Zooogical Gardens continued to thrill its visitors with the opening of the brand new Elephants of Asia Exhibit with support from the STB on 7 June 2003.