Marriage records in Singapore dated back to 1875. However, it was not until 15 September 1961 that Civil Marriages became legislated, under the provisions of the Women's Charter. 15 September 1961 and 1 June 1967 was the window period where Customary Marriages alone were recognized as legal. It was only on 2 June 1967 that Civil Marriages became fully legislated.

 


 

 

Pearl's Hill School began in 1876 at Cross Street as the Singapore Chinese Branch School. The school was among the pioneer batch of government English schools set up by the colonial government. It served as a feeder school to Raffles Institution and other government-aided English secondary schools. In 1883, the school was renamed Cross Street School. It shifted to Upper Cross Street in 1889. The school moved to Peral's Hill Road in 1914, next to the Police Quarters, and was renamed Pearl's Hill School. It was later relocated to a 12-storey building at Chin Swee Road in 1971. It became known as the tallest school in Singapore. The school was officially declared open by the then Minister for Finance and Member of Parliament for Havelock Constituency, Mr Hon Sui Sen, on 2 June 1972. The shcool nurtured many prominent old boys including a President (Dr Wee Kim Wee) and a Cabinet Minister (Dr Yeo Ning Hong). The school ceased operations on 31 December 2001.

 


 

Yishun Sports Hall, located at 101 Yishun Ave 1 (769130), opened to the public on 2 June 1992. There are 4 Badminton courts with seating capacity of 800.

 


 

From 2 June 2008, full-day bus lanes will be extended to 11 new locations in the CBD, with the aim of ensuring that buses will be able to give commuters a faster and smoother journey with less interruption on the road.