Trams were one of the earliest modes of public transport in Singapore but were phased out by end of 1927. Both steam and electric trams plied the island, carrying passengers and cargoes. In 1882, a group of British men formed the British East India Syndicate and applied to the Municipal Commissioners to construct and work street tramways. The syndicate as promoters of the tramways launched the Prospectus of the Singapore Tramways Company on 8 December 1883. The first rails were laid out on 7 April 1885, leading to the start of the first regular service over Tanjong Pagar to Johnston's Pier from 3 May 1886. For the opening of the service, 14 steam tram engines were ordered in 1885 and two more in 1887. Within three years of operations, the Directors of the Singapore Tramways Company approached the Tanjong Pagar Docks Company to sell the system but were turned down. After struggling for another year, they turned to the auctioneers to get the best price possible. The tramway was auctioned off for a mere $186 000 to the Tanjong Pagar Docks Company which must had been less than scrap value. Modifications were done to the tramcars to economise costs but closure of the steam trams eventually came, on 1 June 1894.

 


 

On 1 June 1923, the Committee of Municipal Commissioners decided to name the first portion of the road from Bukit Timah Road to the golf club Bukit Brown Road. It was also decided that the the road from Bukit Brown Road leading to the cemetery should be called Kheam Hock Road, in memory of Municipal Commissioner Tan Kheam Hock, who had actively lobbied for the establishment of the cemetery.

 


 

 

A trishaw (also known as a cycle-rickshaw or pedicab) is a bicycle with a sidecar, powered entirely by the cyclist. The trishaw was a popular mode of public transportation in the immediate years following the end of the Japanese Occupation (1942 to 1945) in Singapore, but started to suffer a decline in popularity from the mid-1950s onwards. When the British returned to Malaya after the surrender of the Japanese in 1945, their first priority was to restore social order. To this end, colonial authorities sought to control petty trading and clean up the streets. Regulations were reintroduced to control the proliferation of street hawkers and trishaw riders as their numbers had swelled during the Japanese Occupation. The first postwar attempt by the authorities to regulate the trishaw industry took place in December 1946 when mandatory registration and licensing of trishaw riders were established. A deadline of 1 June 1947 was set for trishaw riders to register themselves. All prospective and current riders also had to take a licensing test by 31 August 1947 and those who passed were required to wear an arm badge. By the late 1970s, trishaw riders were regarded as a dying breed with most of them primarily involved in the tourism trade.

 


 

The Jurong Town Corporation (JTC) was formed on 1 June 1968 to take over the work of developing and managing Singapore's industrial estates and their related facilities from the Economic Development Board (EDB). One of its first tasks was to expand the Jurong industrial estate through the reclamation of swamplands for the construction of industrial facilities and factories.

 


 

Registry of Muslim Marriages (ROMM) launched its first Marriage Records System on 1 June 1983 called the Marriage Registration System, and became the first department in the then Ministry of Social Affair to do so.

 


 

The Maintenance of Parents Act provides for Singapore residents aged 60 years old and above, who are unable to subsist on their own, to claim maintenance from their children who are capable of supporting him but are not doing so. The Tribunal started its operations on 1 June 1996 to address problems of refusal of children to maintain their aged, ill or needy parents.