Singapore had a Japanese Chief Justice, one Mr Ono, who was appointed in May 1942. The Syonan Koto-Hoin (Supreme Court) was opened on 29 May 1942. A court of appeal was also created, but it never sat.

 


 

Singapore Sindhi Association’s first property was in 30 Enggor Street. Enggor Street property was then sold on 29 May 1951 for $55,000.

 


 

Runme Shaw, Tan Sri, (Dr), one of the legendary Shaw brothers who brought to life the magic of movies in Asia and Southeast Asia. Runme Shaw and his brother, Run Run, were pioneers in the film and entertainment industry in Singapore and Malaya. Founder and chairman of Shaw Foundation, Runme donated millions of dollars to charitable causes in his lifetime. In addition, he was the chairman and president of government boards, patron of many organisations and winner of local and foreign awards for his philanthropic work and contribution to the movie industry in Southeast Asia, that include the Darjah Indera Mahkota Pahang, by Sultan of Pahang on 29 May 1968.

 


 

Along one length of Cecil Street are key buildings such as the Capital Tower, GB Building, Cecil House, Tung Ann Association Building, Aviva Building, LKN Building, Keck Seng Tower, The Octagon and Tong Eng Building. On the other side are the historical site of the Gan Eng Seng School, the Bangkok Bank building, The Spazio, Far Eastern Bank Building, Wing On Life Building, PIL Building and Cecil Court. The Bangkok Bank building opened on 29 May 1978 at a cost of $17 million.

 


 

 


(Construction of new bus terminal at Shenton Way - 2016)

 

Established as an autonomous body on 27 October 1954, the Singapore Polytechnic was set up to train manpower needed for Singapore’s industries. From 1957 to 1958, classes in navigation, town planning, surveying and commerce were temporarily held at various school premises. After two years of construction, the polytechnic was officially opened on 24 February 1959 by Prince Phillip, the Duke of Edinburgh. The building’s distinguishing feature was its rectangular foyer façade with a striking mosaic pattern (picture). In the early 1970s, the polytechnic spread to an annex building across the road at Shenton Way. Two feeder campuses were also set up at Ayer Rajah and the former Princess Mary barracks at Dover Road. On 29 May 1978, the beginning of a new term brought all the polytechnic’s students together on a new 37-ha campus at 500 Dover Road. The polytechnic has remained there to this day.

 


 

On 29 May 1996, the Singapore Cricket Club passed several landmark resolutions – to embark on a $60-million Clubhouse redevelopment that will involve building two storeys underground, create a new class of transferable membership and give women full membership for the first time in history of the Club (offered in November 1997).

 

(Source: www.scc.org.sg)

 


 

Launched on 29 May 2004, The Pinnacle@Duxton is the tallest public-housing project in Singapore and also one of the priciest.

 


 

The Night Safari is the world's first nocturnal zoo and is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Singapore. The Night Safari received its 11 millionth visitor on 29 May 2007.