Aljunied Road, was named after an Arab Syed Ali bin Mohamed Al-Junid, by Muslim Community leader, Dr Munshi, on 28 May 1926. In 1819, Syed Sharif Omar Aljunied, a young prince and descendant of Prophet Mohammed, uprooted his family from Palembang to Temasek (Singapore) when he heard that the island was to be a centre for free trade. In 1857, his son Syed Ali bin Mohamed Al-Junid presented 5 acres of land, and the rent collected went to Tan Tock Seng Hospital. This area known as "Syed Ali's land" was situated in Victoria, Queen and Arab Streets.

 


 

 

On 28 May 1938, the Salvation Army established their headquarters in the House of Tan Yeok Nee. The house remained the Salvation Army's centre of operations for over 50 years, with the exception of the war years, during which the Japanese controlled it.

 


 

On 28 May 1971, the publishing licence of independent newspaper the Singapore Herald was suspended by the government, which accused it of being involved in "black operations", of being funded by questionable foreign sources, of working up agitation against national policies and institutions, and of "taking on the government".

 


 


 

The second series of circulation coins bearing the ‘Flora’ theme features local plants and flowers, was to enhance Singapore’s image as a garden city. Four denominations, namely 5-cent, 10-cent, 20-cent and 50-cent coins, were the first to make their appearance on 2 December 1985, followed by the 1-cent and 1-dollar coins on 28 September 1987. Since 28 May 1990, the 50-cent coin has had a plain edge with the inscription ‘REPUBLIC OF SINGAPORE’ and a lion symbol.

 


 

The Marine Parade Community Library, opened in 1978, was the third full-time library built by the National Library. It was the first Branch Library to be designed for full airconditioning. It also had an Auditorium with a stage and dressing rooms, besides a multi-purpose Lecture Hall. Located at 6 Marine Parade Central, Singapore 449411. It was a stand alone two-storey building with its frontage facing directly opposite the NTUC Supermarket and has its own fenced staff car park. The Marine Parade Branch Library was renamed the Marine Parade Community Library when the National Library became a Statutory Board in September 1995. It shifted to 278 Marine Parade Road in 28 May 2000 to occupy a portion of the Marine Parade Community Complex.

 


 

Circle Line Stage 3 opened on 28 May 2009, the new Circle Line stations are Marymount (CC16), Bishan (NS17/CC15), Lorong Chuan (CC14), Serangoon (NE12/CC13) and Bartley (CC12).