Capitol Theatre opened on the evening of 22 May 1930 with the musical comedy, Rio Rita, the film adaptation of a Ziegfeld Follies theatre production and starring Bebe Daniels.

 


 


 

The idea of setting up the CPF was raised in the Legislative Council on 22 May 1951 when the Central Provident Fund Bill was introduced.

 


 

The new Chai Chee Secondary School was headed by Mrs. Ann Chee and was officially opened by Encik Sha'ari tadin, then Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Culture on 22 May 1969. In November the same year, the very first batch of students sat for the Singapore Cambridge School Certificate Examinations.

 


 

Anglo-Chinese Junior College was the fifth college to be built in line with the Government’s policy on Pre-University Education, the college opened its doors to 968 students from both English and Chinese streams, in Pre-U 1 and Pre-U 2 on 3 January 1977. The job of designing the College was awarded to Messrs Chan Kui Chuan. Wolferston Trowers & Partners were appointed quantity surveyor. Building Construction Company began work in 1974. During this busy period, the special services and advice of teachers from the various subjects were called for and they rendered invaluable help. By mid-1976, the building was almost ready. Tan Sri Dr Tan Chin Tuan, PSM, CBE, JP, laid the Foundation Stone on 22 May 1976.

 


 

On 22 May 1981, the GIC (the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation, originally known as GSIC and now simply as GIC) was incorporated under the Singapore Companies Act and is wholly owned by the Government of Singapore. Singapore's foreign reserves were then managed by the MAS. Dr Goh Keng Swee convinced Lee Kuan Yew, then Prime Minister, that it was necessary to have a GIC, a separate institution to manage these reserves and specialize on investments. This would allow the MAS to concentrate on its function as a central bank, which was to ensure a healthy financial system, with sound banks and low inflation.