The Sailors' Home that existed in the mid-19th to early 20th century was a seamen's lodging. It emerged from obscurity when Joseph Conrad, the novelist, described his stay there in his novels, The Shadow-Line, The End of the Tether and Lord Jim. The Home began in High Street in 1851 and by 1925 it had become Connell House. In Singapore, the Sailors' Home was set up to supply board and lodging to seamen on shore. An idea that was suggested by some philanthropists, discussions to establish a Sailors' Home first commenced on 22 April 1851. An entry in the Singapore Directory and Almanac of 1856 however noted that the Sailors Home was established in 1850. A committee for the setting up the Home was formed, comprising James Guthrie, Captain J. S. Sparkes, John Harvey and W. H. Read (the Honorary Secretary). The Resident was elected President and a Superintendent was also engaged for this cause. To raise funds, the committee held a fancy dress ball on 15 May 1851. Single tickets were sold at $5 while family tickets at $7.50.

 


 

The Straits Times revived the Singapore Free Press on 15 May 1946, after the latter ceased publication in 1869. It cost ten cents and carried worldwide cable news. The Singapore Free Press also included features on special Army Welfare home and sports news. Friendly rivalry existed between the Straits Times and the Free Press. This proved beneficial to both papers. As the editors had their own independence, the newspapers sometimes took contradictory stands on issues. The Free Press appeared in the afternoon. It faced a constant challenge to produce a front page story that would outdo the morning paper.

 


 

It was against this backdrop of high anxiety over the British withdrawal that Mr. S. Rajaratnam, who was then the Minister for Foreign Affairs and Minister for Labour, introduced the Employment Bill in parliament on 15 May 1968, the Employment Act came into effect on 15 August 1968.

 


 

 

The Area Licensing Scheme (ALS) was launched on 2 June 1975 with 27 gantries to mark out the Restricted Zone in the CBD. Prior to that, the government had taken extra efforts to educate the public on the ALS through a series of publicity campaigns. These included publishing and expressing the reasons and objectives of the scheme in newspapers and official speeches. At the same time, the government also began the sale of the area licences on 15 May 1975, about a month before the launch of ALS, at the Registry of Vehicles and 16 selected post offices.

 


 

338E River Valley Road Conservation Area is located along River Valley Road, the area was given conservation status on 15 May 1992 under the voluntary conservation scheme. It contains a two-storey Early Modern bungalow integrated with a new 10-storey condominium development.

 


 

Singa the Lion had been the official mascot of the Singapore Kindness Movement. On 15 May 2013, Singa the Lion was retired from the campaign through an open "resignation letter" posted on the movement's website.