William A. Pickering was appointed as the first Protector of Chinese in Singapore on 3 May 1877. Pickering, who was conversant in several Chinese dialects and had mastered the Chinese written language, previously served as Chinese interpreter to the Straits Settlements government, a post he had held since 1871. The office of the Chinese Protectorate in Singapore opened in a shophouse along North Canal Road on 1 June 1877.

 

(Source: http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/history/events/
523f1488-c3fb-49c7-86bb-1e6281e05263)

 


 

Steam trams started operating in Singapore on 3 May 1886 by the Singapore Tramways Company.

 



 

Prima Limited was incorporated on 3 May 1961 and on 18 August 1963, the Prima flourmill (the first flourmill in Singapore, and one of the pioneer flour millers in Southeast Asia) was officially opened by Dr Goh Keng Swee, the then Minister of Finance of Singapore.

 


 

The first vertical marathon in Singapore was held on 3 May 1987. Racing up 1,336 steps to reach the top of the world's tallest hotel at the time, the 73-storey, 226-metre-tall Westin Stamford (now known as Swissotel The Stamford).

 


 

The Night Safari was finally opened to the public on the evening of 3 May 1994. It was officially opened by then Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong three weeks later on 26 May.