Lt. Colonel (later Major-General) William Farquhar, First British Resident and Commandant of Singapore from 1819-1823. He was an emissary of Sir Stamford Raffles and part of the negotiating team for the Singapore Treaty which saw the setting up of a British settlement and trading post here. As chief executive of the island, his administration procedures conflicted with Raffles's instructions, and this led to his dismissal on 1 May 1823.

 


 

 

For 120 years, this was the home of St Joseph's Institution, a missionary school. Founded by the French priest Father Jean-Marie Beurel and a small group of LaSalle Brothers on 1 May 1852. Construction of the first building begain in 1855 and took 12 years to complete. In 1987, the school moved to larger grounds in Malcolm Road. However, the statue of St John Baptist de La Salle by Cesare Aureli was left behind as a reminder of SJI's rich heritage. The restoration of the building to an art museum commenced in 1992. The Singapore Art Museum was officially opened on 20 January 1996.

 


 

3rd Division has been in existence since 31st Aug 1970, when it was then known as Area 3 Command, located temporarily at Fort Canning. 2 years later, on 1 Nov 1972, it was formally inaugurated at Jurong Camp. On 1 May 1976, it was renamed 3rd Singapore Div and comprised three Infantry Brigades, Division Support Command (DISCOM) and a Signal Battalion.

 


 

Pickle-Ball in Singapore started in 1988, supported by Singapore Sports Council and People’s Association. It is an official sport for life launched by Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong in 1996. The Singapore Pickle Ball Association was chartered 1 May 1995. Pickle ball is played in schools, colleges, universities and other tertiary institutions as well as corporate clubs.