Chongfu School, formerly known as Chong Hock Girls’ School, was founded on 16 April 1915 by Mr Wang Huiyi, a Supervisor of Schools with the Singapore Hokkien Huay Kuah (SHHK). It was the only school for girls at that time and was situated at Chongwen Ge beside the Thian Hock Keng Temple at Telok Ayer Street. At that time, there was only an enrolment of about 30 female students and lessons were conducted by Madam Lin Suqin, the Principal herself, in Hokkien.

 


 

The first air mail from London arrived at Seletar on 16 April 1931, on the Imperial Airways mail carrier City of Cairo.

 


 

initially known as the Ministry of Communications which was first set up on 16 April 1968, since then, had three name changes that correspond with an expansion in its roles and responsibilities - Ministry of Transport.

 


 

 

Construction of Resorts World Sentosa Singapore began on 16 April 2007 on the demolished plot of Imbiah Lookout.