In Jan 1913, the Singapore Sporting Club rescinded its consent for polo playing on its grounds. Polo playing was to shift to the Sultan's palace grounds at Tyersall. On 12 March 1914, the Singapore Polo Club moved to its first permanent home at Balestier Road, bounded on one side by McNair Road. Play began that month. The official opening was held a month later on 13 April 1914, when a grand opening gymkhana was held.




On 13 October 1951, Ceylon Sports Club’s foundation stone was laid by the Rt. Honourable Mr. D. S. Senanayake, the first Prime Minister of Ceylon. Upon completion, the building was officially opened by the Rt. Honourable Mr. Malcolm Macdonald, Governor General for the United Kingdom in South East Asia on 13 April 1954.



The first parliamentary general election held after Singapore gained independence in 1965 took place on 13 April 1968. Parliament was dissolved on 9 February and nomination day was held on 17 February. Only 7 of the 58 parliamentary seats were contested – two by the Workers’ Party and the rest by independents – as 51 candidates from the People’s Action Party (PAP) were returned unopposed on nomination day. The Barisan Sosialis decided to boycott the election on the grounds that “elections under the present undemocratic laws are a complete farce…’’.